Start of Game Programming I at Campus Gotland

I have studied a few programming courses through the years. I started out learning the basics of C++ during my upper secondary school years, around 2009-2010. Later on I studied an introductory course on C++ and also in Java when I first began studying at a university. I have also studied a couple of distance courses which included learning C++, C#, Java and some other scripting language.

The first week of the course Game Programming I has come to an end. This week we have learnt the very fundamental basics of programming and a lot of the the things that was brought up already I knew from before. Though there was some things I did not know of or some things that I had not used before. For example:

  • Usage of Continue in loops
  • for-loop with empty parameters

The use of Continue in loops is similar to Break. Break stops the loop at the specific line, where if Continue is called the loop starts over until maybe Continue is not called anymore.

I have always written something inside the parentheses of the for-loop and did not know that it could be empty (still with commas with spaces between). Instead of declaring and initializing the variable used in the loop inside the parentheses, it could be declared outside the loop. And inside the curly brackets of the loop you could put the increment or decrement of this variable. To make it stop you could just use an if-statement to check something and then Break the loop.

The new things (even though they are few) I have learnt this week makes me eager to start coding games and learn even more about programming. I am really looking forward to this course!

Best regards,

Sven

(P.S. The pic is what I think the life of a programmer sometimes can be 😉 D.S.)

Music of the week: Get To The Choppa – Austrian Death Machine

Lämna en kommentar